Studio Office 

Studio advisory board

The independent studio advisory board is appointed by Berlin's Senate Department for Culture and Europe for a term of two years.

The majority of the members of the Studio Advisory Board are artists. It consists of nine voting members and up to nine representatives:

  •  Five members and up to five representatives (currently three representatives) are named by the bbk berlin e.V. 
  • One member and one representative are named by a recognised institution of contemporary fine art in Berlin 
  • Three members and up to three representatives (currently one representative) are named by Berlin Senate's Department for Culture and Europe

The members of the board and representatives are appointed for a period of 24 months by the Senator for Culture; the current term extends from February 2020 to February 2022.

The appointed advisory board members and their representatives are

Kathrin Bentele, Maurus Gmür, Anna Gritz, Stephanie Kloss, Käthe Kruse, Eva Laufer, Matthias Mayer, Isabelle Meiffert, Irina Novarese, Heiko Pfreundt, Susanne Wehr, Andreas Wolf, Miriam Yammad and Gloria Zein.

The advisory board elects a chairperson and a deputy chairperson by simple majority. The chairperson chairs the respective meetings and represents the advisory committee vis-à-vis third parties. The advisory committee has a quorum if at least five members are present and the majority is formed by artists. The office of the advisory committee is the Studio Office at the kulturwerk of the bbk berlin GmbH.

Artists who use subsidised spaces cannot be members or representatives of the advisory board. Applications from members or representatives of the advisory board are excluded during their term of membership.

We would like to point out that contacting any member of the board may lead to your being unable to submit an application for a studio!

Atelierbüro im Kulturwerk des bbk berlin
Köthener Straße 44
10963 Berlin

Fax 030 230 899-19

Telephone office hours:

Tuesdays: 10 am to 1 pm
Thursdays: 1pm to 4 pm


Birgit Nowack: Tel. 030 230 899-22
Anna Fiegen: Tel. 030 230 899-23
Jana Burkhardt: Tel. 030 230 899-20

Dr. Martin Schwegmann, Studio Commissioner
Tel. 030 230 899-21